Presentation to J LaBelle

On behalf of the Board of Directors and Headquarters Staff of the National Association for Search and Rescue (NASAR), we thank Joseph LaBelle for the dedication he has shown to our educational and certification programs. He was awarded this jacket for his tireless efforts of teaching more than 100 students the Managing the Lost Person Incident class. Its people like Joseph that further the nation in search and rescue education. We thank him for all that he does for SAR and NASAR.

Dedication and Initiative Award


This is an annual award made to a member in good standing of Tri-County Ground Search and Rescue in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the operational effectiveness of the group. 

Selection Committee

A selection committee, comprised of not less than 5 of the current members who have previously received the award, will meet and make a recommendation to the executive on who the recipient should be. 


All regular members not having received the award within the previous 5 years, and of good standing, may be considered. Names will be submitted by the membership by the 31st of October. This award will be given, should a suitable candidate be selected, at the annual Christmas Dinner, or at some

other occasion as close to the end of the calendar year. 


The selection criteria shall be:     

Participation (in order of importance) at:                            

1. Operational searches.                 

2. Regular and special training.                                

3. Regular meetings.                                

4. In Committees.                           

5. Other events.                       


1. Positive attitude.                                 

2.  Role model to other members.                                 

3. Mentoring of new members.                                 

4. Willingness to learn.                                 

5. Constructive criticism and participation in decisions.

Past recipients of the award (up until November 25, 2009, known as the “Searcher of the Year Award”)         

2010 Rpbert Searle 

2009 Norm Deschamps

2008 Dawn Chase 

2007 Jacques Schofield 

2006 Duane Miller

2005 Darren Meredith

2004 Eldon Gilmore

2003 Howard Horsman 

2002 Bill Searle

2001 Verna Poirier  

2000 Richard Foran 

1999 Joseph LaBelle

1998 Sharon Murphy

1997 Raoul LeBlanc

1996 Charlie Austin

1995 Robert Searle

1994. Hector Frenette

1993 Chris Steeves